Mandatory translation and a $10,000 fine: What you need to know about domestic travel restrictions right now

With the Summer Pandemic underway, now feels like the perfect time to stretch your legs, roll down windows, hang up masks, put on masks again (there’s still a pandemic), and what you have. Traveling. It’s time to travel. Sure, you’re more likely not to catch a flight right now, but a day trip can be a fair game, right? Not too fast. New York Governor Andrew Cuomo has just issued a new set of COVID-19 travel restrictions for visitors — and it’s not the only state imposing new regulations.

Mandatory Quarantines and $10,000 Fines: What You Need To Know About Domestic Travel Restrictions Right Now
Mandatory Quarantines and $10,000 Fines: What You Need To Know About Domestic Travel Restrictions Right Now

On Wednesday, Governor Cuomo announced that New York is requiring eight states with elevated COVID-19 cases to implement mandatory two-week quarantine periods. New Jersey and Connecticut will impose similar restrictions to keep the three-state region in peak shape. So whether you’re planning a trip to the coast or upstairs, there can be some complexity at the end of that. And it makes you question, which other states are being strict about domestic visitors? Will it be summer vacation?

Not. But before you pack your luggage for that road trip, here are all states that currently have travel restrictions for foreign visitors.

COVID-19 restricts interstate travel


Florida actually requires anyone with a “significant spread of community” from the three-state area — New York, New Jersey, or Connecticut — to be quarantined for two weeks.


Quite a few returning visitors and residents are required to quarantine for two weeks, and go straight to their designated quarantine location after filling out the declaration form.


Kansas requires travelers from Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas and Maryland to quarantine — you guessed — two weeks.


Except for travelers from New Hampshire and Vermont, all visitors to Maine can choose between a fourteen-day quarantine or presenting evidence of a negative COVID-19 test result taken within the past three days.


All travelers to Massachusetts must be quarantined for two weeks, except for health workers, public health workers, public safety officers, transit workers, and other designated essential personnel.

New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut

So here’s the situation: Currently, anyone coming to New York from covid-19 hot states must be quarantined for two weeks. Those states now include Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, and Utah. Basically, if you’re from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents or a state with a rate of 10 percent or more in a seven-day rotating average, you need to wait for those two weeks. If you are going out and are caught violating this order, you may be subject to “mandatory judicial orders and quarantines.”

Oh, and the best part is? In New York, the first violation can be fined $2,000 and possibly up to $10,000 for subsequent violations. So if you have to visit NYC this summer, remember to prepare some solid watch materials.

Rhode Island

Visitors and residents returning to Rhode Island from a state under a stay-at-home order are required to be quarantined for 14 days.

What do you think?

Written by admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

How Safe Is it (For my Wallet *and* Me) To Book Future Travel Right Now?

Safety Level (For My Wallet*&*I) To Book a Future Trip Now?

Major Airlines Want Airports To Check Your Temperature Before Boarding—But That May Offer a False Sense of Security

Major airlines want airports to check your temperature before boarding — but that can give you the wrong sense of security.